The name Taylor’s Three Rock is derived from two sources; The Taylor Family Homestead and Three Rock Mountain.
Since 1690’s, the Taylors were eminent farmers and in the 18th Century, Thomas Taylor became Lord Mayor of Dublin. The Taylor’s continue to live and farm in the locality and many roads and place names bear their family name. The family are also credited with initiating the landscaping of the stunning 220 acre Marley Park, located across the road.
Three Rock Mountain, one of the most prominent peaks on the South County Dublin skyline, rises directly behind the pub and provides a gateway to the infamous Dublin and Wicklow mountains.